IDF Regions

The development of the seven Regions of IDF has always been seen as vital to the dynamic growth of the Federation. Their progress can only lead to the strengthening of diabetes associations worldwide.

The regionalization of IDF was approved by the General Council in 1982 and is based on the regional structure of the World Health Organization. IDF has seven Regions:

Africa (AFR)
Europe (EUR)
Middle East and North Africa (MENA)
North America and Caribbean (NAC)
South and Central America (SACA)
South-East Asia (SEA)
Western Pacific (WP)

The regionalisation of IDF is based on the Regional Development Plan (RDP), a long-term plan for the development of the seven IDF Regions. The RDP aims to help the regions acquire all the resources they need to help our members, and it is a means to assist the regions in developing a strong regional structure, based on collaboration with the members.