Mobilising for diabetes

At European level, the main advocacy targets of IDF Europe are the EU Institutions (European Parliament and European Commission), the Council of Europe and the World Health Organization European Region. At national level, the Federation acts as a bridge for its Members by informing them on the latest policy developments Europe-wide.

They have signed the Diabetes Pledge!

The role of Members of Parliaments at the National and European level is crucial to develop and implement policies to support the prevention of diabetes and its complications and improve the care and lives of people with diabetes in Europe. The following persons have already signed the Diabetes Pledge:

Andrey             Louis                                                                 Stella
Andrey Kovatchev (Bulgaria)
MEP 2009-
Louis Koumenides (Cyprus)
MCoR 2012-
Stella Kyriakides (Cyprus)
MP 2016-
Roula Mavronicola (Cyprus)
MP 2006 -
Nicos Nouris (Cyprus)
MP 2013 -
IPM16 Photo Bendt Bendtsen   Christel Schaldemose snipped  Merja 19112527901 0bb4ccfd77 z photobleue
Bendt Bendtsen (Denmark)
MEP 2009 - 
Pledge Statement
Christel Schaldemose (Denmark)
MEP 2006 - 
Pledge Statement
Merja Kyllonen (Finland)
MEP 2014 - 
Sirpa Pietikäinen  (Finland)
MEP 2008 -
Pledge statement
Nathalie Griesbeck (France)
MEP 2004 -
Pledge statement
 Manolis   Nessa Childers  15 04 21 Sean Kelly portrait 10  Jerry  cofferati foto
Manolis Kefalogiannis (Greece)
MEP 2014 - 

Nessa Childers  (Ireland)
MEP 2009 -
Sean Kelly (Ireland) 
MEP 2009 - 
Pledge statement
Jerry Lundy (Ireland)
MCoR 2001 - 
Sergio Conferrati (Italy)
MEP 2009 -
 Mario Fava  Comodini  Metsola  fRANCIS  Boris
Mario Fava (Malta)
MCoR 2017 -
Therese Comodini Cachia  (Malta)
MEP 2014 - 2017
MP 2017 - 
MEP Metsola (Malta)
MEP 2014 - 
Pledge Statement
MEP Francis Zammit Dimech (Malta)
MEP 2017 -  
Boris Golovin  (Moldova)
MP 2014-
 Sveinung  Anneniek  Czeslaw Czechyra  Wenta  Ricardo
Sveinung Stensland (Norway)
MP 2013 -
Annemiek Jetten (Netherlands)
MCoR 2015 -
Czeslaw Czechyra (Poland)
MP 2007 - 2015
Bogdan Wenta (Poland)
MEP 2014 - 
Ricardo Baptista Leite  (Portugal)
MP 2011-
Pledge statement
 Teresa   Marisa Cristian Silviu  Daciana Birgitta Sacredeus
Teresa Caeiro (Portugal)
MP 2005 -
Marisa Matias (Portugal)
MEP 2009 -
Cristian-Silviu Bușoi  (Romania)
MEP 2004 -
Daciana Octavia Sârbu (Romania)
MEP 2005 - 
Birgitta Sacredeus (Sweden)
MCoR 2015 -
 Adrian  Catherine Albert Bore  John Bowis  Nirj
Adrian Sanders (UK)
MP 1997 – 2015
Catherine Bearder (UK)
MEP 2009 - 
Sir Albert Bore (UK)
MCoR 1994 –
John Bowis (UK)
MP 1987-1997
MEP 1999-2009
Nirj Deva (UK)
MEP 1999- 
Wajid  Emily  FullSizeRender    
Wajid Khan (UK)
MEP 2017 - 
Emily Westley (UK)
MCoR 2015 –
Keith Vaz (UK)
MP 1987 –

Join IDF Europe and its 70 national Member associations in 47 European countries in our effort to prevent diabetes and provide a better life for people living with the disease in Europe. Sign the Diabetes Pledge, available in seven languages, send it back to us by email ( We will then contact you to discuss the most fruitful way(s) to collaborate and support diabetes in your country.

For more information, please contact us

We look forward to your engagement in IMPACT diabetes!


© 2017 International Diabetes Federation Disclaimer