IDF Governance Structure

The structure of the International Diabetes Federation (IDF) includes:

  • Board of Directors
  • General Assembly
  • Membership

IDF Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is IDF's elected management body. Its primary purpose is to serve the General Assembly to ensure the proper functioning of IDF. The Board of Directors develops IDF strategic plans and analyses all matters relating to the policy of IDF in collaboration with the Executive Office.

The Board of Directors is comprised of:

  • President
  • President-Elect
  • Vice-President Finance
  • Vice-President Strategic Governance
  • Six Vice-Presidents without portfolio
  • Regional Chairs
IDF Board 202021 group 800px

A new IDF Board of Directors for 2020-21 was elected at the IDF General Assembly in Busan, Korea, on 2 December 2019. Members include:

President: Professor Andrew Boulton, UK
President-Elect: Professor Akhtar Hussain, Norway
Vice-President Finance: Mr François Seynaeve, Belgium
Vice-President Strategic Governance: Mr Fredrik Löndahl, Sweden
Professor Naby Baldé, Guinea
Professor Stephen Colagiuri, Australia
Dr Mark Barone, Brazil
Dr Iryna Vlasenko, Ukraine
Mr Kyle Jacques Rose, France
Professor João Valente Nabais, Portugal

Regional Chairs:
Africa: Dr John Mangwiro, Zimbabwe
Europe: Dr Niti Pall, UK
Middle-East and North Africa: Prof Jamal Belkhadir, Morocco
North America and Caribbean: Dr Timotheus Dorh, St. Lucia
South and Central America: Dr Douglas Villarroel,  Bolivia
South-East Asia: Dr Shashank Joshi, India
Western Pacific: Professor Moon-Kyu Lee, Republic of Korea

  • No items found.
© 2020 International Diabetes Federation Disclaimer Privacy policy